For those of you who do not know, I go to a badminton club at a church near where I live every Wednesday evening, and have been doing so for the last 3 years or so. I play with some older folk and so the games are always casual and mainly just for a bit of a laugh.

Lately I have begun to realise just how different the general conversations and small talk between age groups are. In between games when we usually sit down and I listen to the other members chatting about their lives in general; instead of talking about the last episode of skins or glee (bla bla) I find myself catching up on the latest adventures of Michael Portillo in his “Great British Railway Journeys” series, which although I may actually find quite interesting, I had previously never heard or known of this programme until now.. whereas they all had, of course. Although I admit this is not a very surprising point to make, I think it just comes down to the fact that I spend almost all of my time with people my own age and so have become accustomed to the typical conversational topics of people my age, namely getting drunk, exams and the same sort of television and music that seems so unusual to this older generation that I play badminton with each week.

More badminton club musings to follow… =p